Introduction.

Hello readers! My name is Sam. I am 21 and from the good ol’ sunshine state Florida.  I wish I could believe that it was a sunshine state, but all it does is rain! I am making this blog to document my life about my health issues, and my journey on to hopefully heal from them.

The Aliments

Let me start off by telling you the problems I am dealing with. The first problem that has been the biggest issue in my life is the lack of mental clarity. I am dealing with a haze in my head all day long, aka BRAIN FOG. The second is fatigue and weakness, this usually happens after eating a meal. And last, but not least is depression. These issues cause my depression and make me feel worthless.

The Cause

The cause of my problems began when I was just 17 years old. At age 17 I was overweight and out of shape. I weighed 240 lbs. Mind you I am 6’1” so I didn’t look horrible, but I had no muscle tone and I was completely out of shape. I started dieting and followed a diet on body building website. The diet consisted of 6-7 meals daily of chicken and brown rice. I followed this diet for about 4 months and lost a lot of weight, but also felt the worst I have ever been. I was constipated all the time from it. At the end of the diet, when I knew I needed to change I hadn’t had a bowel movement in over 3 weeks. (Sorry for the information, but this is a blog talking about all this stuff and my journey to health.) I went to the hospital because after anything I ate I felt as there were toxins being pumped into me. The X-Rays came back and they said I was stopped up from head to toe. Then they offered me miralax and said thats all they can do. I was frustrated and went home feeling hopeless and like I was going to explode. I fasted on nothing but prune and apple juice for 3-4 days, and I didn’t go to the bathroom once. I was having panic attacks and night sweats all night during this as well. I started having to do enema’s to go to the bathroom and even those didn’t work much. My body had shut down. It didn’t want to move. The worst part to all this was that I had to work 40 hours a week at a gas station. Luckily enough it was the nightshift so I didn’t have to do much work at all. It was hard enough to get through the day with all the brain fog and fatigue, let alone work. My father thought it was all in my head and sent me to a psychiatric doctor to be put on medication. I didn’t want to because i felt it wasn’t relevant to my problem. My problem was my guts not my head. The mental health problems were a stem from my gut I could feel it. This diet fucked me up! They did blood work at this psych dr. They found out my t3 levels in my thyroid were low, but my t4 and tsh were normal. This was due to not absorbing the food I ate making me malnourished. NEVER EVER become severely malnourished. You become crazy(I know none of you will try to become malnourished, but let this be a lesson to you). I was put on medications for mental health and made all my problems worse. I became more constipated and more crazy. I was committed into a psych ward and the works(I will make a blog post about that at a later date). I finally had a spark in my head to rethink my eating habits and to move on with my life.

The Search For The Cure

So I have been searching endlessly for a cure, literally years. From 18 years old til now(21). I tried every diet you could imagine. The SAD diet, the paleo diet, vegetarian diet, vegan diet, and most recently raw vegan. The first two diets made me feel more worse than you can imagine, and made my digestive problems even worse. As I began to go toward a vegan diet I found a lot of my digestion issues started to go away, although not completely. I am going to the bathroom once a day now, but they are loose stools.(I should add I am taking a colon cleanse supplement called Mag07 right now and it does cause loose stools, but prior to taking this supplement I had loose stools.)
This introduction was just a tip of the iceberg to this blog. This is like the back of the book summary into my life to get my health back. I am becoming a raw vegan in hopes I can heal all my issues and I hope I can report success. As of right now I have been a raw vegan for about 5-6 days, so there is still much more to learn from this diet and if it will help me on my path to healing.

I wish nothing but the best for anyone who takes time to read posts about my life, who knows maybe something I post on here will help you out.

Leave a comment